Skip to main content
HomeAbout Us
Background Image URL //

About Us

The California Conference of Directors of Environmental Health (CCDEH) membership is comprised from the Environmental Health Directors from 62 jurisdictions, including all 58 California counties and 4 California cities. Associate membership is open to all Environmental Health professionals (CCDEH Membership Application). Director members of CCDEH are also members of the California Association of Environmental Health Administrators (CAEHA), which is the legislative arm of CCDEH.
CCDEH is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. Check out our newest brochure HERE.

The CCDEH annually elects an Executive Committee that is comprised of four officers, seven policy chairs and four regional representatives. A Manager and Executive Director are based in Sacramento to support the association in legislative and administrative matters. CCDEH's four regional and nine Policy Committees serve at the direction of the Executive Committee (and the EHS Registration Committee that is led by the CA Department of Public Health). Meeting dates can be viewed on the CCDEH Calendar. Awards are given each year to the Manager of the Year (at CEHA AES) and Excellence in Environmental Health (at the annual conference).

CCDEH holds an Annual Educational Conference at which its officers are elected and organization priorities and positions are established. CCDEH is an affiliate of the California State Association of Counties and California Conference of Local Health Officers. CCDEH also works closely with the California CUPA Forum, California Retail Food Safety Coalition and California Environmental Health Association.  

The Executive Committee consists of the President, President Elect, Secretary-Treasurer, Immediate Past President, the Chair from each of the four Regions and the Chair from each Committee. The CCDEH Manager and Executive Director coordinate and facilitate the various activities and meetings.

For a current list of Members, please click Here.
2023-2024 Membership Photo Directory

Past Presidents

Year Jurisdiction President's Name
 2023   San Benito Darryl Wong
 2022  Mariposa  Dave Conway
 2021  Imperial Jeff Lamoure 
2020 Yolo April Meneghetti
 2019 Santa Cruz Marilyn Underwood, PhD
2018 Santa Barbara Larry Fay
2017 Los Angeles Terri Williams
2016 Butte Brad Banner
2015 Marin Rebecca Ng
2014 San Luis Obispo Curt Batson
2013 (partial) Riverside Steve Van Stockum
2013 (partial) Orange Richard Sanchez
2012 Plumas Jerry Sipe
2011 Sonoma Walt Kruse
2010 Calaveras Brian Moss
2009 City of Vernon Lewis Pozzebon
2008 Lassen County Doug Ames
2007 San Mateo County Dean Peterson
2006 Tulare County Lawrence Dwoskin
2005 Pasadena (City) Mel Lim
2004 El Dorado Jon Morgan
2003 Sacramento Mel Knight
2002 Kings Keith Winkler
2001 San Diego Gary Erbeck
2000 Nevada Tim Snellings
1999 Santa Cruz Diane Evans
1998 Kern Steve McCalley
1997 Riverside John Fanning
1996 Placer Richard H. Swenson
1995 San Francisco City/County Ben Gale
1994 Merced Jeff Palsgaard
1993 San Diego Gary Stephany
1992 Shasta Russ Mull
1991 San Mateo Brian Zamora
1990 Sacramento Kenneth C. Stuart
1989 Ventura Donald W. Koepp
1988 Humboldt-Del Norte Jeffrey W. Arnold
1987 Sonoma Michael Vinatieri
1986 San Bernardino Richard Roberts
1985 Placer Martin Winston
1984 Kings Dennis Otani
1983 Monterey Walter Wong
1982 Riverside Donald Boling
1981 El Dorado Ronald Duncan
1980 Fresno Clayton Auernheimer
1979 Alameda Gerald Winn
1978 Los Angeles Walter Wilson
1977 Shasta Dale Watson
1976 Kern Vernon Reichard
1975 San Mateo Henry Eich
1974 Vernon (City) Louis Hauger
1973 Ventura William Anderman
1972 Pasadena Murray Cooper
1971 Marin William Desmond
1970 Fresno Ranard Bergstrom
1969 Santa Cruz L. Raynard Talley
1968 San Bernardino Joseph Martin
1967 Berkeley (City) Glen Lynch
1966 Orange Robert Stone
1965 State Staff Donald Helgren
1964 Sacramento Richard Dills
1963 Los Angeles (City) Charles Senn
1962 Butte Howard Toussaint
1961 San Bernardino Richard Elliot
1960 San Joaquin Donald Layson
1959 Los Angeles Stanley Martin
1958 San Mateo Eugene Howell
 1955-1957 City of Berkeley  Glen Lynch